Winner of the Prestigious 2019 Arthur L. Schawlow Award and Inaugural Steen Awards Announced by The Laser Institute

ORLANDO, Fla.Sept. 10, 2019 /PRNewswire-PRWeb/ — Professor Lin Li, Director of the Laser Processing Research Centre at The University of Manchester, has been announced as the recipient of The Laser Institute’s (LIA) prestigious Arthur L. Schawlow Award for 2019.

Recognition for his career-long contributions to basic and applied research in laser science and engineering, the award will be presented at LIA’s 38th International Congress on Applications of Lasers & Electro-Optics (ICALEO) in Orlando, Florida on October 9th.

The annual commendation acknowledges Professor Li’s leadership as President of The Laser Institute in 2016, as well as President of The International Academy of Photonics and Laser Engineering from 2013–2015 and President of The Association of Industrial Laser Users (AILU) from 2017–2019. At the same time, LIA recognizes his work in pioneering the fields of diode laser materials processing, industrial laser cleaning, multiple material additive manufacturing, and more.

The Arthur L. Schawlow Award joins Professor Li’s list of honored titles including the 2014 Wolfson Research Merit Award from the Royal Society for his research on laser nano-fabrication and nano-imaging, as well as the Researcher of the Year medal from The University of Manchester in the same year. His work on innovative manufacturing that led to significant economic impact was also applauded by The Royal Academy of Engineering as he was bestowed the Sir Frank Whittle Medal in 2013.

LIA’s William M. Steen Award will mark its first year in ICALEO by having its namesake gracing the event as well as personally conferring the awards. Professor Steen will join the audience in saluting the winners that have demonstrated significant innovation in the use of lasers for advanced materials processing.

This year’s winning nominations are:

  • Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory for the Academic & Public Sector Industry
  • Lincoln Electric for the Aerospace Industry
  • K-Labs for the Automotive Industry
  • Electro-Optics Technology for the Defense Industry
  • Boston Scientific for the Medical Devices Industry
  • Samsung for the Microelectronics Industry
  • Hitachi for the Research & Development Industry
  • Boss Laser for the Specialized Manufacturing & Services Industry

The Theodore H. Maiman Award will be annually conferred by LIA to the Steen Award recipient organization that demonstrates the highest achievement in advancing laser materials processing technology. Maiman is known for his work in developing the first operational laser and numerous applications thereafter.

The winner of this award will be announced during ICALEO’s Awards Gala on October 9th.

ICALEO will feature over 222 technical and business presentations on cutting-edge laser applications research, development, and implementation across the four-day conference. For more information regarding registration, agendas, and speakers, visit LIA’s official website.